11 March 2019

The Strade Bianche route joins cycle tourism project

On Friday 8th March, at the start of the weekend of the Strade Bianche pro race and gran fondo, the Terre di Siena Slow (TSS) project was presented in Siena. It is promoted jointly by the Provincial Administration of Siena, the Municipality of Siena (leading body), 32 Municipalities of the Province of Siena and local sports associations such as the Bici Club Terre di Siena, ARI Association, FIAB Siena and the Eroica. The TSS project promotes the development of the territory through a “homogeneous tourism product” organised and dedicated to cycle tourism and “soft mobility”. The following routes were presented as part of the project:   The route of the Strade Bianche, 180km long with its start and finish in Siena, crossing the Chianti, the Val di Merse, the Crete and the Val d’Orcia La Francigena Ciclabile, 110km, from San Gimignano to Radicofani The Sentiero della Bonifica (“Path of Reclamation”), 62km long, between Chiusi and Arezzo, crossing the Val di Chiana Senese and Aretina along the bank of the Canale Maestro della Chiana The permanent route of L’Eroica, 200km across the Chianti, the Val di Merse, Siena, the Crete and the Val d’Orcia The Grand Tour of the Val di Merse, a 147km route that crosses the municipalities of Monticiano, Murlo, Sovicille and Chiusdino, Radicondoli and Casole d’Elsa  

09 March 2019

Julian Alaphilippe claims his dream victory

Julian Alaphilippe della Deceunick – Quick-Step è diventato il primo francese a vincere la Strade Bianche nelle tredici edizioni della gara disputata sugli sterri senesi. Ha battuto l’ultimo compagno di fuga, Jakob Fuglsang dell’Astana Pro Team, sulla salita finale di Via Santa Caterina poco prima di raggiungere la magnifica Piazza del Campo a Siena. Proprio come un anno fa, la stella del ciclocross Wout Van Aert, ora in forza al Team Jumbo – Visma, ha conquistato il terzo posto. Il trio aveva attaccato a 24 km dall’arrivo.

09 March 2019

Julian Alaphilippe wins the Strade Bianche NamedSport 2019

The French rider Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) has won the 13th edition of Strade Bianche NamedSport; part of the UCI WorldTour, the race covered 184km from Siena (Fortezza Medicea) to Siena (Piazza del Campo). Taking the win on the finish line in the historic square, Alaphilippe beat Jakob Fuglsang (Astana Pro Team) and Wout Van Aert (Team Jumbo – Visma).

09 March 2019

Annemiek van Vleuten wins the Strade Bianche Women Elite NamedSport 2019

The Dutch rider Annemiek van Vleuten (Mitchelton – Scott) went solo to win the fifth edition of Strade Bianche Women Elite NamedSport. The race, the first in this year’s UCI Women’s WorldTour, covered 136km from Siena (Fortezza Medicea) to Siena (Piazza del Campo). Van Vleuten crossed the finish line in the historic square ahead of Annika Langvad (Boels Dolmans Cycling Team) and Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Canyon // SRAM Racing).

09 March 2019

Good Morning from the Strade Bianche NamedSport!

The men’s edition of the ‘Northern Classic in the South of Europe’, now in its 13th edition, organised by RCS Sport/La Gazzetta dello Sport and part of the UCI WorldTour calendar, started today from Siena at 10:40 with 147 riders.

08 March 2019

2019 Strade Bianche NamedSport – all set for the gravel challenge

UCI Road World Champion Anna van der Breggen and Tiesj Benoot, last year’s winners, present the 2019 Strade Bianche.

08 March 2019

Strade Bianche NamedSport 2019: where to watch it

The international broadcast feed of the 13th edition of the Strade Bianche NamedSport, produced by the host broadcaster RAI, will cover the final two hours of the race live, and will be distributed in 151 countries around the world and cover all five continents across 14 different TV networks. Record coverage for the Strade Bianche Women Elite Namedsport, now in its 5th edition, which will be covered in the last hour of racing.

06 March 2019

2019 Strade Bianche – everybody wants to emulate Benoot and van der Breggen

A great battle is expected on the course of Strade Bianche on Saturday 9 March. Last year’s winner, Tiesj Benoot, and many other champions are also announced at the start, including the 2018 Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas, multiple Grand Tour champion Vincenzo Nibali, previous Strade Bianche winners Moreno Moser (2013) and Zdenek Stybar (2015) and his team mate Julian Alaphilippe, Olympic Champion Greg Van Avermaet and former Cyclocross World Champion Wout van Aert amongst many others. In the Men’s race the 21 teams are each made up of seven riders, while the 21 Women’s teams will be composed of six athletes each – with dossard no 1 to be worn by last year’s winner and UCI Road World Champion, Anna van der Breggen.

01 March 2019

The Official Guide of the Strade Bianche NamedSport 2019 is now available

The Official Guide of the Strade Bianche Men and Women Elite scheduled on 9th March is now available. Download it here.

01 February 2019

Strade Bianche Women Elite: 21 teams at the start

The teams that will participate at the Strade Bianche NamedSport> Women Elite on 9 March are announced today. The first race of the UCI Women’s WorldTour will have 21 teams of six riders each at the start, ready to match the performance of last year’s winner, current Road World Champion Anna van der Breggen.